

## Texas Department of State Health Services

## **AGENDA**

## Governor's EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) Trauma Systems Committee Meeting Department of State Health Services (DSHS)

Thursday, March 6, 2025 2:30 PM- 4:00 PM DoubleTree by Hilton Austin, Phoenix South Ballroom 6505 N Interstate 35 Austin, TX 78752

This meeting will be conducted live and virtually through Teams. Virtual meeting links are posted to the GETAC webpage at <a href="www.dshs.texas.gov/dshs-ems-trauma-systems/governors-ems-trauma-advisory-council">www.dshs.texas.gov/dshs-ems-trauma-systems/governors-ems-trauma-advisory-council</a>.

Trauma Systems Committee Chair: Stephen Flaherty, MD Council Liaisons: Della Johnson, RN; Brian Eastridge, MD; and Alan Tyroch, MD DSHS: Jorie Klein, MSN, MHA, BSN, RN, EMS/Trauma Systems Director; Elizabeth Stevenson, RN, Manager Designation Unit

- 1. Call to order Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 2. Roll call DSHS Staff
- 3. Reading of the GETAC vision and mission statements Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

GETAC Vision: A unified, comprehensive, and effective Emergency Healthcare System.

GETAC Mission: To promote, develop, and advance an accountable, patient-centered Trauma and Emergency Healthcare System.

4. Reading of the Trauma Systems Committee statement of purpose – Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

Statement of Purpose: The trauma system committee monitors key performance indicators of the Texas trauma system to assess for optimal performance so that those injured in Texas receive timely care meeting national standards, as well as those standards established by our providers (care guidelines). Key areas for monitoring include designated facilities, the rural trauma care gap, ensuring an inclusive trauma system, financial health of the trauma system and communication across all levels of the system.

- 5. Welcome new members
  - a. Heather Sieracki
- 6. Review and approval of November 2024 meeting minutes Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 7. GETAC chair announcements Alan Tyroch, MD, GETAC Chair
- 8. EMS/Trauma Systems (EMSTS) update Jorie Klein, MSN, MHA, BSN, RN, EMS/Trauma

Systems Director; Elizabeth Stevenson, RN, Manager Designation Unit

- 9. Trauma Center Spotlight Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 10. United States Northern Command (US NORTHCOM) Southern Border Operations update

Committee discussion and possible action on the following items:

- 11. National Disaster Medical System (NDMS) Integration in Texas Eric Epley, CEM, GETAC Disaster Preparedness and Response Committee chair
- 12. Stakeholder report: Texas Trauma Quality Improvement Program (TQIP) Carlos Palacio, MD
- 13. Stakeholder report: Texas Committees on Trauma (COT) Chapters Carlos Palacio, MD
- 14. Discuss the committee review of the *Pediatric Consideration for Consultation and Transfer* document and the addendums referenced in the document:
  - a. Child Physical Abuse Toolkit
  - b. American Burn Association Transfer Guideline
  - c. Pediatric Interfacility Transfer Quality Improvement Plan
- 15. Trauma rules process and status Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 16. Committee focus points Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
  - d. 2025 Priorities
  - e. Rural trauma gap
- 17. Pillar reports Committee Members
  - f. Designation pillar Elizabeth Scherer, MD
  - g. System Performance pillar Raul Barreda, MD
    - i. Trauma transfer delays
    - ii. Military-civilian partnerships in Texas
  - h. Inclusive Trauma System pillar update Wesley Milum, RN
  - i. RAC Communication pillar update
  - j. Financial health pillar update Kathy Rodgers, RN
  - k. Pediatric Injury pillar update Howard Pryor, MD, and KaLinda Evans, RN
    - i. Image duplication
- 18. Stakeholder report: Stop the Bleed Texas Coalition Brandy Martinez
- 19. Injury severity score (ISS) coding/Trauma Quality Improvement Program (TQIP)
  Preparedness workgroup Anne Feeler, RN
- 20. General public comment Comment time may be limited at the Chair's discretion.
- 21. Summary of action items to present at RAC meeting Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 22. Summary of action items to present at GETAC meeting Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 23. Announcements Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 24. Review and list agenda items for the next meeting Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

- 25. Next meeting date Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 26. Adjournment Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

Public Comment: The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) welcomes public comments pertaining to topics related to Emergency Health Care. Members of the public are encouraged to participate in this process by providing written public comments to DSHS by emailing <a href="mailto:deidra.lee@dshs.texas.gov">deidra.lee@dshs.texas.gov</a> no later than 5:00 PM, February 28, 2025. Please include your name and either the organization you are representing or that you are speaking as a private citizen. Written comments are limited to three minutes and will be read during the meeting for consideration by the Council. The request must contain your name, the name of the organization you represent or that you are speaking as a private citizen, and your direct phone number.

Public comment is limited to three minutes. Speakers must state their name, affiliation, and on whose behalf, they are speaking. Public members who are using handouts are asked to provide an electronic copy in accessible PDF format that will be distributed by DSHS staff to Council members and state staff and for public distribution. Handouts are limited to two pages of documentation (paper size: 8.5" by 11", one side only). Handouts must be emailed to DSHS by 5:00 PM, February 28, 2025, and include the name of the person commenting.

Note: These procedures may be revised at the discretion of DSHS.

Contact: Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Jorie Klein, DSHS, at 512-535-8538 or <u>Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov</u>.

People with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Jorie Klein at 512-535-8538 or <a href="mailto:Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov">Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov</a> at least 72 hours before the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.